Why I Won’t Stand With Bahar Mustafa

Hear me out before you bring out those pitchforks. Let me start off by saying I am completely for free speech for anybody and everybody. I believe everybody should have the right to voice their views and opinions no matter how hateful they can be. With that being said, I also see the fine line between voicing your opinion and publicly advocating for the death of others. “#KillAllWhiteMen”


Bahar Mustafa’s story has been circulating the web for awhile now, but in case you’ve been living under a rock I’ll give you a quick run down.

Bahar Mustafa, the diversity officer of Goldsmith University in London held a university event excluding men and anybody who was white.

This news hit the internet and quickly a petition was made to have the diversity officer fired for hateful comments toward a racial subtype and also sexist comments of misandry.

In retaliation to her criticism Mustafa made a video claiming she could not be racist or sexist.

I, an ethnic minority woman, cannot be racist or sexist toward white men, because racism and sexism describe structures of privilege based on race and gender and therefore women of colour and minority genders cannot be racist or sexist since we do not stand to benefit from such a system

Bahar Mustafa got to keep her job but her hate speech managed to break some British communication laws which brings us to yesterday where it was released Mustafa is to face two charges and will appear at Bromley Magistrates’ Court on the 5th of November. No, she has not been arrested as of yet.

Now that we’re all caught up, I’d like to say I’ve sat on this a bit before writing. I was conflicted about the situation. On one side of the coin we’ve got a person facing charges because they tweeted out #KillAllWhiteMen on social media. When it comes down to it, free speech is being restricted in this regard and I personally do not believe anybody should be prosecuted for their thoughts or opinions.

On the other side of this metaphorical coin, it’s clear to see Bahar Mustafa is deeply ingrained into the overly politically correct speech policing call out culture that seems to be leaking ever more so from Tumblr each day. From #GamerGate to ShirtGate this type of social justice advocacy has sprung up everywhere. Bahar Mustafa is basically the living definition of a SJW and has been getting away with it.

Two things ultimately persuaded me to look the other way on this matter. I had to remove my own thoughts and beliefs on it to look at the picture for it’s entirety. One thing that I needed to overcome is the idea of free speech. As much as I’m for it, I realized free speech is not globally accepted. That is a problem in itself that troubles me greatly but it is a truth in this situation. Free Speech to North Americans is not the same as it is to Europeans, and Bahar Mustafa did break British Laws. Of course I don’t agree with it, but I can accept it for what it is.

The second reason I refuse to stand with Bahar Mustafa is simply because it’s what she wanted. SJW’s wish to censor all forms of dissenting views. They believe thoughts or opinions deemed offensive in any way should be stopped, that those who are guilty of wrong-think should be persecuted. Just last week we saw a report make it’s way in front of the UN designed to lay the ground work to do exactly what’s been done here in Mustafa’s situation. Her charges are simply an SJW’s end game applied to everybody, not just cis-white-males.

That scares me incredibly, but she ultimately got exactly what she asked for. I don’t believe it’s right, but its her situation in her location. I just hope others around the world can learn from it and put a stop to it before it happens to them.

2 comments

  1. She got what she wanted, so that’s a good thing, even though it makes the situation perceptibly worse for everyone else? I’d rather oppose tyranny, even when it’s being practiced on the nitwits who called for it.

    Like

  2. Does it really though? Her situation is a great example that can teach those like her who have called for this kind of action to be taken just how bad it is and how quickly it can backfire. If anything, I believe it couldn’t of happened to a better person. Of course I’m just being optimistic in hoping sjw’s will wake up, but given the support she’s gotten I’m sure it opened the eyes of at least a few.

    Like

Leave a Reply

